The Battle Plan

Okay troops, here’s the battle plan.

I am picking myself up and making myself feel better. Whether myself wants to or not. And the only way I can do that is by doing something.

Now that I’m done with treatment for the year, I’m going to try some of the more natural remedies I’ve heard so much about. So here is my regimen:

2 packets of Pregnitude a day

200 mg of Soy Isoflavones days 4-8 (started today)

Vitex?

Here’s were I need some help. I don’t know how to take the Vitex. I’ve read so many different things. I’ve read to take it all during your cycle. I’ve read to take it up until ovulation, I’ve read to take it only after ovulation. I don’t know how many milligrams or when to take it. Any help with this ladies?
I’m strictly restricting my fluids to water, juice, tea and non-fat organic milk (and occasionally chocolate milk, because holy kittens I love it). NO MORE SODA. I just can’t believe that soda is helping-and it certainly cant hurt to cut it out. I may drink coffee too to help with the obscene caffeine headaches I have.

Chief is going to look into whether or not his Tricare Reserve Select covers an RE in any way shape or form. I’m going to talk to my insurance company and see what they say. If they’ll cover ANY part of an RE-even as a small out of network percentage type deal, then I’m going to call some of the RE’s office in my area and talk to them about costs and how they handle billing and such. If an RE is still out of the picture, then I’m going to try an OBGYN that my friend who has had two miscarriages recommended to me. She said that she started seeing her after the second MC and she was very proactive and ran every test under the sun to figure out what was causing her MC’s-and she actually did figure it out. And my friend and I have the same insurance (she’s a coworker) so I know it would be covered. This doctor sounds like a rogue OBGYN who is actually willing to be PROACTIVE. I like my OBGYN-I just think that he doesn’t really know where to go from here. He admitted to me early on that Clomid was the end of his IF expertise. At least he’s never lied to me.

I’m also going to up the fruit and veggie intake by a lot. Now that I can cook again this should be a lot easier.

And I’m not making any promises-but there may even be some exercising. I can tell you right now that during the holidays I won’t have time for much. But maybe 2-3 times a week. And anyway, over-exercising wouldn’t help anyway.

So yes-that is the plan. I haven’t decided whether or not to temp right now while I’m trying all these new things. I feel like I should to see if it’s working, but that brings back in a certain level of stress I was trying to get away from. So what do you guys think? Vitex? Temping?

Thank you to everyone who has been so supportive. My troubles in comparison to so many of yours are virtually nothing, and yet you’ve treated me with respect and kindness. You’ve never made me feel like I don’t deserve to feel sad like many others have. Thank you for sharing your time with me. You all have the most beautiful souls.

11 thoughts on “The Battle Plan

  1. One to two pills a day for the Vitex. Take it all month but don’t stop at the BFP. There are some conflicting reports about whether stopping it cold turkey can cause a miscarriage. It’s safe to take it during pregnancy so I would continue to take it up until the end of the first trimester (when the placenta takes over progesterone production). I would temp, but only to see how the soy and Vitex effect you.

    • Yeah, I would think since it ups your progesterone you definitely wouldn’t want to stop it if/when you got a BFP. And I think I will temp, but I’m def getting a new thermometer. I have a crappy walgreens one that gives me the same temp all the time and then the one I had been using started acting up.

      • I have the Nexcare thermometer and it works pretty well. It only goes to the tenth degree (ex: 97.3) but that’s all that’s really needed anyway. I’ve never had any major issues with it.

  2. If you can, go to an RE. They can “creatively” code things that wouldn’t be covered under your insurance. For instance my current insurance covers NOTHING, so my RE has coded my ultrasounds, bloodwork, etc. under fibroids (which I have so it is not a lie).

  3. It’s crazy that no RE’s are covered in your network!! I was thinking the same thing as nonsequiturchica. I think having a carefully laid out plan is good. My only caution is to make sure about taking both the soy (increases estrogen) and the Vitex (increases progesterone) together along with the Pregnitude. It may be overkill. I took 1500mg of Vitex for two months and temped religiously. It did not help me to ovulate, but it raised my BBT significantly, which I thought was a bit odd, so I stopped taking it. Definitely temp when you’re taking these herbs!

  4. Oh man, I totally relate to this. When I am down I NEED a plan to get myself back into gear.

    I have the same confusion with vitex- not sure when to take it due to conflicting info but I have settled on taking it right until I ovulate. Could be wrong but at least I am consistent.

Leave a Reply

