Commitment Issues

I should never try to start a blog challenge, because clearly I have commitment issues. Before you judge too harshly, let me explain my absence.

First of all, I started bleeding AGAIN last Tuesday. In general I felt pretty cruddy-not like I had, but still icky. It was really light but on Thursday it turned heavy and some of the pain came back. I was still able to work and function and all that stuff. We also had evaluations last week and honestly, it’s pretty amazing I made it through the whole week without calling in. I also had to help orient our new summer programmers by driving around to some of our branches and introducing them to people/giving them pointers on what to do. I called the doctor about the Return of the Period (that could be a really bad Star Wars parody) and he said to just take it easy and call him if it got worse, but otherwise he thought I could wait to come in until my appointment on Tuesday (which is now today). I’m anxious and ready.

I had this weekend off, but no posting happened and I have a horrifying reason why.

On Saturday we were getting ready to have lunch with some friends who live about 45 minutes a way. It was 11:30 am and Jason went to let the dogs in because it was getting pretty warm and he came running back to the bedroom and told me to get dressed right away because Bonnie was covered in blood. My sweet precious Basset Hound Mix angel dog was literally covered in blood all over her face and head. I started to cry immediately and panic. I found clothes and called our vet who is open until noon on Saturdays-but unfortunately the doctor was gone for the day. So I called the other vet in our small suburb and their doctor was gone too. So then we had to go to the emergency vet. I was crying on the phone with my dad and grabbing things in the bedroom to take (wallet, keys, purse) and suddenly I see Bonnie, hobbling down the hall to me. Barely able to hold herself up and listing into the wall. Jason was trying to wrap her head in a towel and get her out to the car when she heard me crying and tried to come to me.

Horrifying. There’s just really no other word to explain it.

So we get her in the car and I’m driving. Chief has her in the backseat with him holding her because there was just so much blood and he didn’t think I could handle it-and he was probably right. I scream into the emergency vet parking lot and they get her in a room right away. Somehow she got one of her floppy ears caught in something in the back yard (we still can’t figure out what-very scary) and she had a six inch gash on the inside of her ear that cut all the way through her cartilige. The last 1/2 inch of the ear is cut comepletely through. This at least explains why there was so much blood-ears are real bleeders. We were lucky to be the only ones there. The vet had me sign off on the surgery (that I would pay and everything) and get her started immediately. When they had taken her away was when I really let loose with the tears. I’m not proud of myself, but my god, I felt like such a bad mother. What if we hadn’t let her in before we left? We could have come home to a dead dog. I just had so much guilt for things that I now know are not really my fault. We still can’t figure out what she cut herself on, but she’s not going back in the backyard unsupervised until we do. They’re just going out to do their business and then coming right back in.

Luckily the surgery went well-her vitals were really strong throughout the whole thing. But the cut is a nasty one. She’s on two antibiotics, two pain killers (one with an antiswelling agent), and I’m having to keep her doped up on Benadryl (vets orders) to help her sleep. Her head is bandaged up constantly (and she is constantly trying to get them off) and when we’re not home she has to be in a cone. My happy go lucky girl is real pathetic right now. We have a follow up with her regular doctor tomorrow to take a look at the wound and figure out when the stitches can come out. She’s not wanting to eat much which I’m sure has to do with all the meds, but it still concerns me. She is drinking some water and last night we took her to grandpa’s house (my dads) which she LOVES. She got SO excited-which probably isn’t good for her right now, but it felt good to see that she’s not so sick she can’t still enjoy some things.

So anyway, that was our weekend. We stayed home in bed with her Saturday and Sunday and then went to my dads last night for dinner and took her with us. I hate being away from her for work, but Chief is checking on her during his lunch breaks and he gets home at 2:30 for the day, so she’s not alone too long luckily.

Now I’m going to try to get semi caught up on my challenge:

4. Characters you hate and which books they’re from:

You guys are going to think I’m coping out on this one, but I have a really hard time hating characters-even evil ones like Voldemort. I just can’t hate a character, no matter how bad they are, because typically they are so important to the story line. If I can think of anyone I really dislike I’ll let you know, but as of right now I have to take a pass on this one.

5. If you were stranded on a desert island, what five books would you take with you?

1. Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban/Rowling (this isn’t necessarily my favorite, but it was super hard to pick)
Basically, I can’t live my life without some Harry Potter. I reread all the books every year.
2. Little Women/Alcott
A childhood favorite. I first saw the Susan Sarandon movie and fell in love with the story. I always wanted to be Jo March who all the best boys fell in love with.
3. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief/Riordan
This combines my great love of mythology with my love of juvenile adventure fiction. Excellent read.
4. A Great and Terrible Beauty/Bray
Historical fiction with some fantasy thrown in-two of my favorite genre’s in one!
5. Wild Mage/Pierce
The first chapter book I ever got really excited to read. Fantasy and a young girl who can talk to animals. A skill I’m always hoping will be late developing in myself.

6. The best book I’ve read in the last year:
Out of the Easy/Sepetys. It combines prostitutes, New Orleans, and the American dream all in one thrilling young adult novel. So, so excellent.

7. The worst book I’ve read in the last year:
Spellcaster/Gray. The story was flimsy at best and the main characters voice was childish and annoying. I’m surprised I even finished it.

8. Your favorite quotes from books:

“We must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
-Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter

“What I need is the dandelion in the spring. The bright yellow that means rebirth instead of destruction. The promise that life can go on, no matter how bad our losses. That it can be good again.”
-Katniss Everdeen, Mockingjay

9. Your favorite quotes about books:

“Anyone who says they have only one life to live must not know how to read a book.”
-Author Unknown

“The books that the world calls immoral are books that show the world its own shame.”
-Oscar Wilde

“I can’t imagine a man really enjoying a book and reading it only once.”
-C.S. Lewis

10.Name five absolutely great film adaptations of books

1. Twilight

OKAY-NOW WAIT. Stop throwing things at me. I’m not saying Twilight is a great book, what I’m saying is, that after having read the book AND seen the movie, I’d say they did a good job of translating it into film. PUT DOWN THE PITCHFORKS.

2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

As one of the most complex books, I think they did a pretty good job of bringing it to film. They left out some things, but kept the major aspects of the book there, which was important-because this storyline really changed the whole shabang.

3. Little Women (Susan Sarandon version)

Little Women is a long honking book, but I love this version. I love Wynona as Jo and little Kirsten Dunst as Amy. I even used the music from it at my wedding. It’s a beautiful movie.

4. Emma (Gwyneth Paltrow version)

Love this charming adaption of one of my favorite Austen’s. Paltrow really brings Emma to life on screen-in all of her charming but slightly snobbish ways.

5. Hunger Games

I thought they kept the storyline pretty pure and illustrated the characters well. What I didn’t love was the shaky hand held camera crap. It made me a little nauseous-but I have high hopes that won’t be around in the next movie because I know they got really slammed on it.

11. Name three absolutely awful film adaptations of books.

1. Beautiful Creatures

This is fresh to me because I just recently saw it, but MAN was I disappointed. They had GREAT actors lined up for this. And if you haven’t read the book I think you’d really enjoy the movie, but if you’ve read the book then the movie is jacked up big time. A LOT of important things were either changed or completely omitted and my favorite character Alma who is portrayed by Viola Davis, is combined into my OTHER favorite character of Marian the librarian. They made Alma into a dual role for goodness sakes! There is no Marian! I could go on forever about this. So disappointing.

2. The Princess Diaries

I love this movie. I really do. I’ve been watching it any time it’s on TV for YEARS. But now that I’ve read a bunch of the books, I know how inaccurate it is. In the books her dad is NOT dead and her grandmother is NOT nice. So yes, I love the movie. I think it’s cute, but it’s not the best film interpretation…

3. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

Again, while I love this movie, it is SO NOT THE BOOK. And it could have been. The pivotal last battle between Harry and Voldemort makes me so angry every time!

So there we are folks. I’ll give you an update this week on my doctors appointment and where we are with that. Happy Reading.

3 thoughts on “Commitment Issues

  1. Thanks for the heads up about Beautiful Creatures! I figured it would suck compared to the books but it’s good to get it from someone who has actually read them. I’m sending healing thoughts Bonnie’s way!

  2. Oh no poor Bonnie! Ears are real bleeders though- we had an incident with our puppy that freaked me out. Our older dog just had ACL surgery a few weeks ago and if they are on painkillers, they are just not hungry. I hope she recovers soon!!

Leave a Reply

