Catching Up

Okay, first order of business. Let’s talk about something good.

I have officially lost 40 pounds. I’ve lost a kindergartener off my body. I think that’s pretty amazing. And I have the stomach virus to thank for pushing me over the edge… Chief dutifully reminded me that it was time for a new dress. He’s a pretty darn good husband, if I do say so myself.

I’m tired of being gloomy and feeling sorry for myself. I have a lot to be grateful for. So let’s talk about books.

15. A book on my to-read list:

All of the John Green books, but particularly “A Fault in Our Stars”, even though I understand that it’s going to break me up into a million tiny pieces of hurt.

16. A book I have no intention of ever reading:

Fifty Shades of Grey. I read a few chapters and skimmed through. I have nothing against erotica, but it just made me feel….icky. Subjugation like that is not something I want to bring into my life, even through fiction.

17. A book I want to like but can’t get into:

Lord of the Rings. I know that I can’t officially be a nerd without liking these books, but I just don’t. I’ve tried, and granted, it has been a while since I’ve tried, but still. The world just doesn’t intrigue me, and in fantasy if the world isn’t intriguing then there’s just really no point.

18. A highly overrated book:

Anything written by James Patterson, especially recently. Since he stopped writing his own stuff the level of work has really suffered. I’ve never read any of his early stuff, but I tried reading “Witch and Wizard” and was really disappointed. The writing is just not great.

19. A book that is highly underrated:

Unspoken: Lynburn Legacy Book 1 by Sarah Rees Brennan

Guys. GUYS. This book is SO GREAT. Her writing reminds me Meg Cabot in that she’s funny, but she also weaves this really amazing fantasy story set in modern times that grips you to the very, very end. I’m dying waiting for the next book. DYING I TELL YOU.

20. The environment I most enjoy reading in:

My bed, with all the pillows (Chief must be at work or doing something so I steal his pillows too) and the heating pad on my feet to keep them warm and snuggly. I would like to be there right now. I also like reading at the gym. I’ve been reading some on my phone at the gym, but I think I’m going to invest in a Kindle to make that easier. I’ve been pretty anti-e-reader for the last few years, but I guess it’s time to succomb.

That’s all she wrote folks. Happy Thursday.

6 thoughts on “Catching Up

  1. 40 pounds is FANTASTIC! Great job!

    Enjoying all the book posts very much!

    I finally tackled some of 50 Shades of Grey, but I quit the book. I didn’t like either of the main characters at all, and bad boys aren’t my thing. So I’m with you on that one.

  2. Congratulations on the 40 pounds – that is awesome! Your what pushed me over the edge reminded me of the quote from The Devil Wears Prada: “I’m one stomach flu away from reaching my goal weight.”

    I agree with you on LOTR. I’ve never been able to get into them, though the movies were decent.

    readingeachpage.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

