Update

So I survived the “winter weather” (that really turned out to be just cold rain) to make it to see my doc this morning. When I walked into the office he himself was wrestling with a Christmas tree in the corner. I looked at the receptionist and said “Yeah, I’m [Barren Librarian] here to see the guy with the tree…” and then looked at him and said “You know, when I worked for a doctor he made me put up the Christmas tree”, and doc was all “I’m an OB/GYN with a staff full of women. I don’t make them do anything.”

Good point.

He asked me what was going on and I said, “Oh not much. My ovulation strips are insultingly negative, so I’m not feeling great about things.” And then he said, “Well, we may just have to kick things up a notch.”

Then, because we are so comfortable with each other at this point, he said “Do me a favor and go around the corner and let [Nurse] know you’re here”.

Then I took of all the clothes I could manage without being inappropriate, got weighed (down some more! 53 pounds lost!) and had my blood pressure taken, and then stripped down in preparation for the ULTRASOUND OF DOOM. (Cue dramatic music).

Okay, it wasn’t that bad. First I’ll just give you guys the facts, because I know you’re wondering:

My uterus looks “beautiful” according to the doctor. I have a good “uterine stripe” as he calls the lining-very healthy, exactly what we want to see. That was a relief to me. Then he went searching for my ovaries, and when I say searching I mean SEARCHING, because he couldn’t find lefty. I jokingly said “Are you sure you didn’t remove them during surgery?” with a nervous laugh. Anyway, he found righty, and there were two follicles on it. Neither of them are anything to speak of though. The biggest one is 8.8 mm. So yeah, it ain’t happening this cycle. That’s fine. I’m glad that things are “waking up” (in his words, this cycle is like “priming the pump before you use it”). Next cycle, we’re taking the letrozole up a dose and using a trigger shot. I’ve had a trigger before with Clomid and it didn’t work, but he feels so positive about this next cycle. And instead of just prescribing ovidrel he’s going to have the HCG compounded for me to save me some money. The Ovidrel is over $100 dollars a shot, so saving money is great. I’m all for saving money. In the end, he could barely find lefty because it wasn’t really stimulated at all, but good news folks-it’s still there.

Here is why I’m calling it the ULTRASOUND OF DOOM.

Doc had a student with him so he was really trying to find things to show her on the screen. We got several shots of my uterus, he showed her my tubes, the ovaries that he could find, even my bladder. It really went on for a while. And while I’ve come to accept Mr. Probe as a part of my life, it doesn’t mean I like him. I most certainly do not. By the end I was ready for my reproductive system to be my own again. During the ultrasound he said, “what side did we do the most work on during surgery? I can’t remember.” and I said “I’m not sure-you were the awake one, remember?”

We’re just a couple of old chums.

Anyway, he walked me to check-out and said “I think we’re going to get a Christmas miracle out of you!” which was sweet. So Hope, the fleeting bitch that she is, is back for a little while at least. Anyone wanna take bets on how long until I’m a sobbing mess again? Anyone? Anyone?

Thanks to those of you who were encouraging last night/this morning. It’s good to have friends πŸ™‚

17 thoughts on “Update

  1. Nah you wont be a sobbing mess πŸ™‚ I’m going to be full of optimism for you and pray that you have joy, peace and a Christmas miracle πŸ™‚ hugs to you!

  2. Wishing you all the best. I have to say though, as a Super Pessimist I’d be irked if he were my doctor, making me Christmas promises! Ugh doctors — I hope he’s right, of course!!!

      • Haha not weird at all! I have a cat named Abbey (after the Beatles album) but I know at least two people who named their kids Abby so *I* always feel like the weird one!

Leave a Reply

