I don’t know how you can all be so calm WHEN CLEARLY I AM DYING.

So last week before WHITE DEATH 2013 came I had a physical and got some blood drawn just to see where I stand on some things. I also wanted to get my glucose checked because with PCOS that’s really important. So anyway, I’m not going to lie, I’ve lost 53 pounds this year and I went into it thinking that I was in pretty good shape. I was prepared for a pat on the back, keep up the good work, etc.

Well today I got my lab work in the mail with notes from my doctor and my cholesterol is high! Me! The super healthy, exercising, weight loss girl! What the hell?! I mean, it’s not like I’m going to die, but here’s the breakdown:

HDL: 50

LDL:148

LDL/HDL Ratio: 3.0

T. CHOL/HDL Ratio: 4.3

Triglycerides: 87

Total Cholesterol: 215

CLEARLY I AM DYING-RIGHT? RIGHT?!?!

Okay, in all seriousness, it’s not that bad. The triglycerides are badass actually. Both the ratios are considered “normal” and the HDL isn’t terrible, but the LDL (the bad cholesterol) is high. I want it at least 15 points lower than that. And the doctor said that he didn’t recommend starting statins while trying to conceive, but he did say adding Omega 3 Fish Oils would be a good idea. I’ve heard those can mess up your stomach and cause fishy burps-eew. But does anyone know about them during TTC? Does anyone know anything about high cholesterol during TTC? Is it a factor?

I feel like I’ve done something wrong, like when you get a cavity at the dentist. But really I haven’t! I can’t remember the last time I ate fried food, I eat fiber, lean protein, veggies. I (mostly) exercise. Sure I’ve fallen off the last few weeks, but that wouldn’t have affected my cholesterol for this test. So what this tells me is that it really is genetic. I’ve known that my family has problems with cholesterol and heart disease, but it is really freaking me out. Because if after the way my diet and exercise have been for the last year my cholesterol is STILL high then that means I have a problem. And I don’t wanna.

The good news (I guess) is that my glucose is very normal, so he’s not worried about that. My CBC was fine. Everything was mostly fine. My lymphocytes were elevated indicating I was fighting an illness last week (I’ve felt sick for months due to allergies, so that’s not shocking to me) and my calcium and total protein count were SLIGHTLY up. Both only by .2 over the normal, so no big deal. and my thyroid numbers were good which is great, because several times in the past my thyroid has been slightly outside the normal range.

BUT DAMNIT I’M 25, HEALTHY, AND HAVE HIGH CHOLESTEROL. What gives?!

11 thoughts on “I don’t know how you can all be so calm WHEN CLEARLY I AM DYING.

  1. I have high cholesterol too, and fish oil is fine to take while TTC. However, I’ve never seen my numbers come down. Also, I’d recommend watching the documentary called “statin nation” which is REALLY revealing about the “cholesterol problem” we have in the US.

  2. Fish oil is RECOMMENDED while ttc, by ALL of my doctors (well 3 of them anyway) and it helps the baby’s brain to develop. From what I know, cholesterol is often genetic and some of the healthiest people I know lifestyle-wise (non-smoking, non-drinking, athletes who eat nutritiously) have still had to have medication–most often it was very obviously genetic with a pattern of heart attacks and strokes in the family. XO

  3. yikes! I had my blood drawn two years ago but I never got the numbers. Just a letter saying “all is good. keep taking your metformin”. This makes me want to request my actual numbers just in case

  4. I’ve been taking fish oil since I’ve been TTC (no, it hasn’t gotten me pregnant yet, but I’ve heard it has a lot of nutritional benefit). There’s a brand I use that promises to be “burpless,” and I haven’t had those yucky burps — just look at the label, you can find tehm pretty much everywhere. And congratulations on getting yourself healthier, even though your numbers might not be perfect…

  5. I also have PCOS and high cholesterol. Not super high but similar to yours. We started doing meatless monday and upping the veggies. That dropped my number 13 points in 2 months with no other changes. My doctor also said more exercise should help with the number too. Good luck!

  6. I take the vegan omega-3 capsules made from algae. No weird flavor or side effects or burps. I get them on amazon. Congrats on everything looking good!

  7. I have always had the cholesterol level of an obese 55 year old man. OK, not ALWAYS. When I was 12 it was only 190. Heh. Did I mention I was underweight when I was 12? Has zero to do with weight – at least in my case.
    To my knowledge it has no affect on fertility but I have had to fight with doctors all my adult like to stay off statins because you ABSOLUTELY CANNOT TAKE THEM OR EVEN TOUCH THEM IF YOU EVEN THINK YOU MIGHT BE PREGNANT.
    So there. I wouldn’t worry about it for now. Eye on the prize. Don’t let this distract you.

  8. can anyone recommend a particular brand and/or amount of omega 3 to take for TTC? i’m trying to get healthier and lose weight while we’re saving up for IVF #1, but i’m not quite sure which supplements I can, should or conversely shouldn’t, take – and in what quantities. HELP!!

Leave a Reply

