There are days I’m grateful I don’t have kids

The day when they have tracked some sort of food with powdered sugar all over the carpeted hallway of the department is one of those days.

The day when I ask them about it and they all say “That wasn’t me!” or “I wasn’t even here when that happened!” is one of those days.

The day when I spend four hours creating a Black History Month Jeopardy game in powerpoint for them to play and all they can do is complain that the questions are too hard and can’t they just have candy is one of those days.

The day when one of them stubbornly refuses to listen when I tell her she can’t loiter in a certain area is one of those days.

The day when the twelve year old WHO KNOWS she’s too young to be in the teen center continues to sneak back in is one of those days.

When all of those days end up being the same day? Well that day makes being a barren cat lady look pretty damn good.

2 thoughts on “There are days I’m grateful I don’t have kids

  1. My boyfriend’s son is 12, but he is pretty sure he knows all the answers to everything. He is pretty sure we are unfair and awful when we don’t let him play with his friends even though he is failing science. Kids are fun when they are little and then again when they are 25 and have actual rational thought and insight.

Leave a Reply

