Progesterone and How to Break Up with My OBGYN

Good Morning Bleeps.

I am feeling better today. Still a little blue around the edges, but better-and I owe it all to you. You were all there for me yesterday. It’s so wonderful to have a group of ladies who can really identify with me in this struggle. You really got me through it. On the agenda for today are discussions of Progesterone and breaking up with Dr. T.

1. Progesterone. So here’s the thing. I’ve taken Prometrium in the past when I haven’t ovulated to bring on a period. It never gave me symptoms, I think because it is a small dose (200 mg a day before bed). This time however I believe I DID ovulate, because my symptoms have been terrible. Crampiness, really, REALLY sore boobs (let’s just get down to it, they’re not sore, they’re PAINFUL), bloatedness, etc. So anyway. Since I’m not pregnant my natural progesterone is going to fall probably sometime this weekend. I want to extend my cycle to try and time CD 3 as close to my appointment on May 5 as possible. With my natural progesterone falling soon (its 13 DPO today), should I double up my artificial progesterone dose to try and keep my lining in tact as long as possible? I just feel like 200 mg won’t be enough.

Β 

2. I’ve been trying to decide what to do about my OBGYN. I know I shouldn’t feel so special as to think that he’s just going to be crushed when I leave, but I also don’t want to just fax over the release of information form and let him find out that way. I feel like I should call the nurse and let her know what I’m doing and that I hope to be back, and pregnant, by the end of the year. I even thought about baking them cookies and hand delivering the release form. I just want them to know that I don’t blame them for not getting pregnant. If anything I blame myself for not leaving earlier when I knew I should. Did any of you have this sort of struggle? I’m just incredibly loyal to him. I’ve been through a lot while in his care-me and the nurse talk like friends when I’m there. It’s just tough for me.

Β 

So, thoughts?

17 thoughts on “Progesterone and How to Break Up with My OBGYN

  1. I don’t think it’s as big of a deal as you may think. My OB was happy that I was seeking additional help that she could no longer assist me with and now that I have been released from my RE and back with the OB our relationship is just as good. She was genuinely excited when I was able to come back for her to oversee the pregnancy πŸ™‚ Good luck!!!

    • I don’t think he’ll be upset I’m seeking specialized care-and if he is he’s not a good doctor. I just don’t know what the best way is to let him know I’m seeking specialized care. I probably overthink things.

      • Oh I gotcha πŸ™‚ I went about it by calling and inquiring about it with my doctor’s nurse. They took down all my questions and concerns and I got a call back from my actual doctor who said she thought it was a great idea since we had exhausted all she could do and would prep the referral for me that day. It was pretty simple for me. Hopefully it will be for you too!

      • THanks-that helps. I’m going to make the call Monday. If I call today (13 DPO) I feel like they’ll think I’m jumping the gun. Monday will be 16 DPO. No gun jumping there.

  2. So many thoughts. I can’t keep up with you! I’ve got like four blog posts saved in my reader to respond to.

    1. I’m sorry, so sorry, that I’ve egged you on with testing early. BFN’s are terrible, and I played that game too many times myself. I really had high hopes for this cycle.

    2. Insurance. Do not trust BadRE’s advice. Call them directly, but also talk to University Billing and make sure they code as many things as possible under routine obgyn codes. My insurance is crappy (covers diagnostics only) and I’ve never paid for bloodwork or ultrasounds in all my years of treatments. It’s all about the codes they use.

    3. Progesterone – are they checking this to make sure you ovulate? They should run it so many days after O to see if you actually popped that egg. That was one of the first tests I remember having done. It should be over a certain number to indicate ovulation. Alternately, an ultrasound would show if you ovulated as well. It’s time for some definitive answers, my friend.

    4. Breaking up is hard to do. I love your ideas of cookies and think its a nice gesture. Not necessary by any means, but nice and if you want to do it, go for it!

    I’m sure that there is more, but my phone keeps eating this comment, so I’m done with the assvice for now! Giant hugs.

    • I’m going to respond in numbers that correspond to your numbers πŸ™‚

      1. Don’t feel bad! It is by no means your fault that I have no self control. No big deal πŸ™‚

      2. When University RE sent over the paper work it said that they will not code things “incorrectly” because they don’t want to get called out for insurance fraud. My cousin has been to this person (I just found this out this week!) and really likes her and has verified that she has been charged for her office visits and ultrasounds and what not, so I’m guessing that will happen for me too, but I guess it doesn’t hurt to ask.

      3. Dr. T has checked my progesterone when ive had long cycles to verify that I’ve not ovulated, but he’s never checked it when I’ve done a trigger since the trigger is supposed to “guarantee” ovulation. Symptom wise I KNOW I ovulated this time. No joke. I just wonder if I should double my progesterone now that my natural progesterone will be falling.

      4. I do love to bake. Plus if/when I get pregnant, think about how much more he’ll love me for the sugar rush I’m providing him with!

    • I think I’ll do it πŸ™‚ I just love them at that office so much. He’s always billed things to get my insurance to pay for as much as possible for me, and they get back to me quickly with questions, and they’re just so darn nice.

  3. I’ve never gotten a period while taking 200 mg of progesterone, even when i’m extending a cycle. I can’t imagine you’d need to double up, but of course everyone’s different. As for the breaking up with your doctor, I literally just posted about this on my blog today! Check it out theoddsareneverinmyfavor.wordpress.com

  4. 200 mg does not sound small to me. I had to reduce mine to 100mg because the 200 knocked me on my ass. But that’s me. Your needs may be different. I wouldn’t double up, though, unless your doc OKs it.

    • Oh yeah, progesterone has been like a sleeping pill for me. My OBGYN has instructed me to take it at night. But I see girls out here who take 400mg-one in the morning and one at night. I wouldn’t be able to keep my eyes open!

      • Orally? I thought those doses were creams or suppositories. But I have little experience in that. I’ve only ever taken provera, prometrium and PIO shots. Prometrium knocked me out more than the others.

      • I can’t say for sure that I’d seen it being taken multiple times a day orally. It was just in one of my many message board browsing sessions (such self destructive behavior).

        I’m not looking forward to progesterone suppositories. It sounds like that’s an REs bread and butter.

Leave a Reply

