105 signatures, Alaska, and Horcruxes

https://petitions.whitehouse.gov/petition/require-all-insurance-coverage-include-infertility-testing-and-treatment-both-women-and-men/BRQ6xm2F

One hundred. and five. SIGNATURES.

45 more and it’s publicly visible. Sign! Sign! Get your dogs and cats to sign!

Ahem.

I’m going to Alaska.

!!!

I am so excited. Chief and I have been talking about it and planning for it because he’s going for training in August (apparently one of the best times of the year to go!) and he got the official word that it’s okay for me to go too. He’s not staying in barracks so I can stay with him (free accommodations!) I might be able to swing a flight with him, but we wouldn’t know until the last minute, so I’m just going to bite the bullet and pay for one myself. $700 (plus $200 for a rental car while I’m there) is a small price to pay for a week long vacation.

I’m just beyond thrilled. For the last few months in the back of my head has been “but what if I’m pregnant by then?” or “what if that happens to be the week we would go for an IUI?” or any other number of things. But I’m just DONE letting IF rule my life. If I don’t go now I’ll certainly never go once there’s a kid around. So I’m doing it. And I’m really jazzed about it. This will be the first time I’ve ever had to fly somewhere by myself. And Chief probably won’t be able to get me from the airport so I’ll have to drive the rental to the base we’re staying at all by myself. !!! I feel like a fo’real grown up and everything.

I feel really, really good right now guys. If I ovulated I’m something like halfway through the two week wait, but I haven’t even been thinking about it really. This is probably due to my skepticism that I didn’t actually ovulate. I guess I’ll find out. But it’s been nice to not feel so stressed about TTC and IF. Here’s what I’ve determined:

Those fertility drugs? They’re actually horcruxes (If you haven’t read/watched Harry Potter, the rest of this post is meaningless to you. I apologize).

That’s right, we are swallowing horcruxes. Injecting tiny bits of Lord Voldemort’s evil, mangled soul into our tushies. And shelling out some serious cash for them. What else could explain the amazing happiness I feel NOT being on fertility drugs? The zen? The normality? It’s just like when Harry, Ron and Hermione knew they would be taking turns wearing the horcrux. I know I’ll have to swallow/inject the drugs again, and I know I’ll be crazy as a loon/depressed/cranky/anxious then. I can see it coming. I know what it does to me.

But for now, I’m enjoying my time away from the horcrux. I don’t miss it even a little bit.

10 thoughts on “105 signatures, Alaska, and Horcruxes

  1. Enjoy Alaska! I went when I was 18 and it was beautiful and a wonderful experience. If you’re pregnant then? You’ll manage. Good for you for not letting infertility control you!

  2. Alaska is amazing and August IS one of the best times to go! I would love to go back and explore even more of the state. How exciting for you!

    • I know-it’s so amazing. I need to do another post about it. I mean, I know we won’t get to 10,000 by the deadline obviously, but it’s a tiny baby step in the right direction that people outside of this community saw it and cared enough about it to sign it. Maybe it got them thinking a little.

Leave a Reply

