Waiting to see if there will be a two week wait

I woke up this morning and took Dewey to the vet for his post op leg check thing. He’s doing remarkably well-the vet says he’s a week farther along in recovery than he expected, and he has 70% use of the leg. All good news.

The bad news is that since Dewey is “such a good cat” in the vet’s words, we get to start doing PT with him.

That’s right. Cat physical therapy. TWICE A DAY.

This is my life.

Have I mentioned that I’m morally opposed to declawing? Oh the scratching that will occur. The carnage-the sheer carnage!

I mean, this vet may THINK he knows my cat-but he really doesn’t. Dewey is on his best behavior at the vet. He flirts with all the girls and gives the vet his sad and pathetic doe eyes

puss-in-boots-00-645-75

I know better. I’ll be lucky to survive the next few weeks.

In other news, there is no other news. I go for a recheck of the recheck of the recheck tomorrow to see if the follicles grew any. Chief and I worked out in the yard yesterday and got it looking really nice. I had severely neglected my garden this year. Working two jobs and having weekly appointments at the fertility clinic sucked up all my time, money, and energy. But my once beautiful gardens just looked so rough. I couldn’t take it anymore. I spent more money than I should have on it, but I feel so much better about it. We also got the soaker hoses set up underneath the mulch AND put them on a timer, so they just come on automatically at 6:00 am for thirty minutes. It’s so nice knowing that everything is getting watered without actually SEEING the hoses strewn about.

Also, I had a breakdown yesterday about my clothes not fitting. Sobbing, ugly, breakdown. I’m not blaming it all on fertility drugs. It’s totally a combination of fertility drugs, a bit of depression, working too much, not working out, and not eating right all the time (although I would say most of the time). I’ve gained back twenty of the sixty pounds I lost. Chief and I resolved to start working out three days a week which I know will be hard, but I can’t stand to lose all my progress and I hate feeling bad about myself.

Of course, that didn’t stop me from eating a bag of chips left on my desk. Baby steps. I know this issue is a common one in our circle. I talked to my mom about it last night and the words “I feel like my body is not my own anymore” came out of my mouth without me even thinking about it, but they’re true. I don’t have much of a say over my own health anymore. I can’t even exercise the same way I used to (according to my doctor, “moderate exercise three days a week is best, no high aerobic activity while going through treatment”). No zumba, no fast elliptical. I’m hoping I can still get away with step aerobics, but I have to watch my heart rate-that’s key. When I work out hard my HR gets up around 180. The doc is adamantly against this. So basically I’ve just been using it as my excuse to not exercise at all. Unacceptable.

Added:

I just finally thought of a cute name for my doctor (not that I ever get to see him anymore): Doctor McLadyParts. Sort of like McDreamy or McSteamy on Grey’s Anatomy (which I’ve never actually seen-don’t judge).

Doctor McLadyParts it is.

9 thoughts on “Waiting to see if there will be a two week wait

  1. Oh my god – hoses under the mulch and on a time is pretty much THE smartest thing of all time!!!!!!!!

    I definitely feel your pain of clothes not fitting. It totally sucks.

    I hope that you get good follie news tomorrow!

      • It is a smart man’s irrigation system! I am the dumbass out in my yard at 10pm in the dark because I forgot to water the plants AGAIN! haha!

      • Oh seriously-invest about fifty bucks in a couple of the nylon soakers and a timer. Set it all up (or make your husband do it, like I did-it makes them feel smart and technological. Really you’re doing them a favor) and then just lay your mulch on top. You won’t be sorry. And the nylon ones don’t break like the other rubbery ones do. Such a better deal.

  2. So many things to say about this… 1) Cat PT? My cat freaks out when I try to put a collar on him or give him flea meds. There’s no way he’d let me do PT. Good luck! 2) I’ve had a few freak outs about clothes in the last few weeks, too. I’ve gained TWO pants sizes in the last 2 months. I have one pair of jeans that fit and that’s IT. Same as you- it’s a combo of fertility drugs, poor eating, not working out (doctor’s orders!), and chips. Sigh. Glad you got your garden the way you want it. It’s so important to have something positive right now. Best wishes for good folliew news.

    • Ugh. It is the worst. I have a pair of jeans that are tight, but still fitting. If I could lose five or six pounds in the next month before Alaska that would be great. I do NOT want to buy new clothes because I’ve gotten too fat to fit into my old ones so I can go on vacation-that would be depressing!

  3. Your cat is on his best behavior at the vet? My cat acts possessed when I take her to the vet–I have never seen her that hateful in any other environment, and I keep trying to assure the nice women there that she is actually very sweet. Have you tried clipping his claws? Every few weeks we wrap Gaia up in a towel (we call it “kitty burrito time”) and hubby will hold her will I take out one paw at a time and clip her nails. It has made a huge difference for our furniture, and it may help save your flesh during PT.
    Also, you are doing great. Really. You have so much on your plate, and you are doing the best you can. Please remember that and be kind to yourself.

    • I used to be much better about claw clipping than I am now. i should have asked them to do it while I was there today! Hindsight.

      And thanks for the kind words. It’s so hard to not be hard on yourself when it feels like you’re doing everything wrong. I’m just going to try exercising some more, because even if I don’t lose much weight I’ll at least feel like I’m doing what I can do.

Leave a Reply

