FFP, Zumba, Self-Esteem, ALL THE SPERM, and PIO

Edit: FFP just called. I’m getting ten 75 IU vials of gonal-f and one Ovidrel syringe for the low low price of……..$409 dollars with my compassionate care membership.

Have I mentioned how grateful I am? I mean, it’s still a lot of money. But yeah, it could have been double that.

So…I’m still waiting to hear from FFP about my drugs. The nurse yesterday said she’d call them in and then they’d call me to get all my info. Now I’m afraid the nurse forgot. If I haven’t heard from FFP by Friday I’ll call my clinic again. I’m still riding pretty high on the whole 50% off thing. I mean, they’re still going to be effing expensive, but I don’t care. I don’t care I don’t care I don’t care. I just want them to work.I just want to be pregnant. Please let August be my month.

Last night I did some research into work out classes in my area. The base gym offers a bunch, but the times don’t work for me. I just want to shout “hello, not ALL military wives stay home. Some of us do work!” But the good news is that the community center where I live offers Zumba Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday at 8:00 pm, which is PERFECT for me. It’s $3.00 a day or $30 a month. If I only go twice a week it will be cheaper for me to just pay the daily fee. I’ll just have to see how much I can handle. I doubt working two jobs AND going through treatment AND, you know, eating breathing and sleeping will lend to me doing three classes a week. If one of them was on a Saturday that would be ideal. But that’s okay. I feel good starting with two and Chief and I can walk the dogs on the weekends.

I just feel like if I could move my body more maybe I wouldn’t be AS depressed going through all this crap. I mean, I’m not saying endorphins are the answer to everything, but feeling better about my body in general would probably help. Also, I would REALLY love to lose just a smidgeon of weight before Alaska. And I don’t want to start off being pregnant as being fat and uncomfortable. I’m going to be fat and uncomfortable anyway-no need to add to it.

So yeah, I’m going to my first Zumba class tomorrow night (assuming we can get out of family dinner in time, which I think we can). Hopefully the instructor is good and high energy. That’s pretty crucial to having a good Zumba experience.

Also, assuming we get to do an IUI this cycle, I’m not at all bummed about doing the first week of the TWW in Alaska. Not at all. Chief asked me when he could go in for his sample, and I told him basically as soon as we figure out that this cycle is a-go. If his first sample is low I guess we could have him give another one a few days later and use both-right? Do they do that? I didn’t talk to Dr. McLadyParts about that, but it seems like we could use as many samples as we want in this sort of situation…right? I’m kind of hoping if that’s the case it might take some pressure off Chief, knowing that it’s not a “one shot deal”.

So, PIO. I’m just going to be straight with you-my pee smells WEIRD. And I’m not the kind of person to analyze her pee that often (you know, only on the high holidays). But man. It smells weird. I can only equate this to that god forsaken shot. My pee doesn’t even smell weird when I eat asparagus, and that’s a thing, right?.

Also, my injection site hurts literally if I brush it. That’s ridiculous. I call bullshit on this whole thing.

P.S. If anyone can let Lucy50 know that I can’t comment on her post even though I can see it, that would be great. It says that I haven’t been granted permission or something. I want to comment!

19 thoughts on “FFP, Zumba, Self-Esteem, ALL THE SPERM, and PIO

  1. I’m on PIO daily and my pee also smells weird. Just so you have some confirmation on that. And the sites hurt for sure. Sympathy directed your way 100%. And Hooray for Zumba and 50% discounts and feeling excited about the next cycle.

  2. Yay for Zumba!!! I miss going. I used to go to a class in my hometown with amazing instructors, but I’m 30 min. away now and they’ve stopped teaching anyways. Cross fingers that August is the month for both of us!!!

    • I’ve done it at home. I have the video game for x-box that tracks your movement, but I have to do it on carpet and it’s not nearly as fun. I love it too! That’s why I’m so excited! Also a little nervous everyone else will think I’m insane because I dance exactly like I look (like a white girl), but mostly excited!

  3. Oooo! I hope and pray that August will be the month for both of us! I’m Chelle, btw, and a new follower. What is PIO? I’m in the midst of trying to raise funds for our IVF. My doctor lowered her price from $25k to $7 for me. I still hope and pray every month is *the* month, then I won’t have to worry about coming up with the money for IVF. I have “unexplained infertility” which doesn’t mean much for anyone’s frustration. So, praying for you!.

      • Positive is good. That is what I am going for and you’d think it would be an easy win, to just see it and go hooray, but I’m surprised at the struggle to accept it as real. There’s a chance it could be trigger.

        Anyway, Zumba is awesome-sauce. I love Zumba.

        I will continue to work on the commenting problem.

      • I can’t comment either (I really really really wanted to comment!!) — so, at least you can distract yourself, trying to solve that little problem, right?

  4. I am hoping and praying that August is your month! That would be AWESOME! Also, I love, love, love Zumba. They don’t have any classes in my small, two stop light town, but when I lived in the bigger cities I would go three times a week. I was much skinnier back in those days and I know it was the zumba. I’m excited to hear how it goes for ya 🙂 xo

    waitingforbabybird.com

  5. That’s great that you get the meds on discount! My insurance pays for it ($35) co-payment and if they didn’t, I’m not sure we could afford it. Fertility med prices are scandalous!

  6. Hooray for the discount! I think the Zumba class sounds great. I loved doing yoga during IF (don’t hate me, I swear I won’t tell you you have to do it!!). It was the one time for me that I could see my body doing what it was supposed to do. Those classes were the times I didn’t hate my body, and that made a huge difference to me. I would imagine Zumba could play a similar role. Plus, it’s always looked like fun.

Leave a Reply

