Back on the bandwagon

Weight watchers.

It’s baaaack.

Because despite going to three 50 minute Zumba classes last week and sweating my butt off, and eating fairly healthy in my opinion, I didn’t lose an ounce. But with WW I lost like crazy. So if I don’t start losing again fairly quickly, I will KNOW something is wrong, and I WILL blame the Metformin.

For as long as I’ve known a thing about PCOS I’ve wanted to be on Metformin. Begged both my OBGYN and my GP to put me on it. Now I’m on it and I’ve had a messed up cycle that REFUSES TO DIE and I cannot. lose. weight.

Grrr.

We’ll see about it. I have read that some women take a few months to really adjust to it. The tummy troubles are gone completely which is so nice. And I have read that sometimes they up your dosage if it’s not having any good effects, so maybe that’s coming. We’ll see. I’m only on 1500 a day which seems low compared to most folks.

Other than that things are okay. Despite the fact that the weight isn’t budging, I still feel really amazing about doing Zumba. I think it’s saving my life. Endorphins are the best natural antidepressant I can think of, and they’ve been working like a charm.

ALSO, prepare to feel proud:

I’ve contacted a local therapist that’s covered under my insurance and am hoping to have an appointment when I return from Alaska. This person was recommended to me by a friend. I’m going to insist to not be put on any drugs (I don’t want to have to wean myself off of them if/when I get pregnant), but I want someone to help me figure out some coping mechanisms for when I start feeling overwhelmed with the bad, negative, jealous feelings. Crying to the point of being sick (I’m pretty sure I made myself sick y’all. I had to miss a day of work because my head was such a mess and I hadn’t slept) CANNOT be healthy. And I have immense levels of guilt about missing work-and more guilt is the last thing I need in my life. There has to be a better way.

I talked to Chief and he is completely supportive. He says there’s someone on base too that works for his unit and is free, so I may try both channels and see who I like better. I mean, free is good. Also, the base is right next to my house, so that would be awesome. On the other hand, the other therapist is pretty close to Dr. McLadyParts, so it’s not like I’m not out there all the time anyway. We’ll see.

Zumba class tonight! I bought some new work out clothes. A third pair of compression pants, two racerback tanks, and a new sports bra. Going to class three nights a week means that that sports bra NEEDS to be rotated. For the good of the boobs. Of course, MY sports bra costs $65.00, but it was tax free weekend here, so that helps. Retail therapy.

Also, less than two weeks until Alaska!

!!!

Have a magnificent Monday my mellifluous maternal mavens!

6 thoughts on “Back on the bandwagon

  1. Counseling is ah-mazing. Mine really helped me understand that what I experience every month was actual, legit grief.

    Don’t let anyone medicate you, if you don’t want it. Depending on the doc and insurance plans, they’ll sometimes rush to get you on something. Given your circumstances (i.e. trying to get pregnant), no responsible person would try. If they do, red flag ’em and find someone else.

  2. I’m also taking Metformin for PCOS, 1500 a day. I’ve been on it since last July. When I first started taking it I read stories of other women losing weight in their first few weeks of taking it. That did not work for me. I looked online for Metformin making women gain weight but couldn’t find many stories. I’m almost positive this is why I’ve put on 15 pounds and can’t get it to come off!! Me and hubby are starting T25 today. Good luck to you with weight watchers!

  3. As a former counselor (but to at risk youth…so not the same) I am always an advocate for people to go to counseling no matter what 🙂 I’m excited for you! Also, when I first started going to zumba (YEARS AGO) I didn’t notice the scale taking notice until maybe week three or four? Stay with it! You will start seeing results and then before you know it you will need new underwear because even your old ones are too big 🙂 xo

  4. I sooo need to get back on WW too, even if in pregnant this cycle cause I’m not at a good weight to be starting out a pregnancy on. Not too mention I can’t wear anything besides my dresses right now.

  5. I’m glad you are enjoying Zumba. 🙂 I find counseling helpful. I hope you will find a counselor who is a good fit for you!

Leave a Reply

