I am grateful for:

I feel like I need to flip the script on my own attitude. Between rough holidays and rough people in my life, I’ve been a gloomy gus, so I’m going to do an exercise for myself to remind myself why I am a lucky, lucky girl.

I am grateful for this baby in my belly. I am. I really, really am.

I am grateful for a husband who takes care of me like no other and is going to be an amazing father.

I am grateful he didn’t grow up to be like his father or his brother, who let their own wives do all the work because that’s the “manly” thing to do.

I am grateful and in awe of my husbands own selfless service in both the Army and the Air Force. He drove over 100 convoys in Iraq. So many chances I could have lost him. I am grateful that didn’t happen.

I am grateful for parents who love me and support me, and won’t let me fail no matter how hard I try.

I am grateful for the roof over my head and the financial ability that has turned that dreadful house into a warm and delightful home.

I am grateful for the means to be able to purchase another house in a few years so we’ll be able to be in a better district and closer to my mom.

I am grateful to have not only one, but TWO jobs to support my family with.

I am grateful for my education, no matter how many times I claim I’d trade it back in to get rid of these student loans.

I am grateful that I was even able to GET an education, because I know sixty years ago it could have been a different story.

I am grateful for the cars that my husband and I drive, that they are in good working condition and will be safe for our Junebug.

I am grateful for my pets who love me in a way I didn’t even know possible. For cats that curl up next to your face while you’re sobbing and just pur. Who can say that’s not love?

I am grateful for the health insurance that enables me to go to the doctor when I’m sick.

I am grateful to have a sister, and while that is hard for me to say, I know my parents would be harder to manage without her there sometimes.

I am grateful to have amazingly supportive friends both online and in person, who kept me going through this infertility journey.

I am grateful that for as many people as are telling me my life is over, there are twice as many in the wings saying that it just isn’t true. I’m only getting started.

Finally, I am grateful and also incredibly humbled by the fact that my “just enough” is someone else’s dream.

If you want to add something to the list, feel free to do so in comments, or even do your own post. I’d love to read. Writing this has lifted my heart so much when I’ve been in a ridiculous sad place for reasons that just aren’t good enough. Not when there is so much to be thankful for.

5 thoughts on “I am grateful for:

  1. Your life isn’t over, it’s just different. It’s hard and beautiful at the same time. I’m 2 and a half months in. I had the same doubts you do. I didn’t know if I could do it or if it was a mistake. I questioned my wanting to do it at some point. DH and I are really independent. You will do great! The first two weeks are challenging for sure. You’ll fall into your stride though.

  2. Will *some* things be over? Like staying in bed, or going out to fancy dinners, or super long uninterupted showers? Yes. But you know what? Not forever. And you get so so so much more back in their place. You won’t give two shits about any of that stuff the first time you see your baby smile, or hear your baby laugh, or see how excited they are when they realize they can walk.

    It is hard, and tiring, and intimidating, and you as the momma never really get a break, BUT it’s totally worth it!

  3. Your life is most definitely not over. I can tell you we heard the same thing over and over and were freaked out. Honestly your life is over as you know it now, but the world your child opens your eyes to is the most amazing gift they can give you. They find the wonder in the everyday things we take for granted. They give your life a whole new meaning. Children really are a gift, not a burden. I know you will never forget that. đŸ™‚ Wonderful list!

    • I think its one of the most hurtful things you can say to expectant parents. Theyre so excited and full of hope and joy and its just a way of trying to bring folks down-and i totally let it work on me. Ugh. Toxic people.

Leave a Reply

