Color me embarrassed

i overdid it today for sure. Errand running, cleaning, lifting, squatting down to plant in the garden…

Then on the way to my birthday dinner with my dad I started having STRONG pain. I cannot exaggerate on the word STRONG. STRONG.

I tried to fake it but made it through ordering some water before I had to admit how bad it was. The waitress went to find me Tylenol and I called my OB through the exchange. He called me back in less than a minute and told me to go home and lie down with a big jug of water and my heating pad. He said if it wasn’t better in 90 minutes to two hours max to go to L&D. He was very calm, said he wasn’t worried, but that it’s always a good idea to be safe.

Chief practically had to carry me out of the restaurant and I just about cried all the way home.

30 minutes on a heating pad and a lot of water later and it’s much better. So now I’m just embarrassed. I freaked out my parents and my husband, bothered my doctor on a Sunday, and missed out on dinner with my dad. 

Maybe it is possible that I can’t ACTUALLY do everything I did before I was pregnant. I’m frustrated with myself.

11 thoughts on “Color me embarrassed

  1. There’s no way to learn what overdoing it is until we overdo it. Don’t be so hard on yourself. I would’ve called someone too. I’m glad you’re feeling better. ❤

  2. It may well have been more a hydration issue than what you actually did. Hydration needs while pregnant is different than what you normally expect and I bet you are also in a zone that is experiencing more change in outdoor temperature at this point. That can also through off your experience re needing to drink a LOT more. Glad your doc was calm and sensible and totally clear in the instructions. All is well and you learned. Congratulations, well done!

  3. I threw a surprise party for my mom around the 30 week mark…I could barely walk by the end of the night I was in so much pain. I cried with every hobbling step I took. My husband was not happy. But, I learned my limits and learned to stop and sit even when I don’t feel like I NEED to because I will appreciate it later. You’ll get there. It IS super frustrating though!

  4. So glad you are ok. I guess you learned that lesson the hard way! But I also think “old mother” may be right about the hydration issue. It’s so, so true. I learned that one the hard way with my last pregnancy, too.

Leave a Reply

