Breast milk everywhere

my boobs leak. All the time.

Last night I woke up in a wet bed and it took me a minute to figure out why. Charlie had slept five hours in a row (NOT complaining) and my breasts couldn’t take the suspense.

Just now I was feeding her from the right and the left just couldn’t handle it and started dripping down my leg. Usually I pump once in the morning to really empty myself well, but chief had to go to work for a bit this morning and Charlie has not been amenable to being put down. At all.

I am a dairy bar with a leaky tap.

38 thoughts on “Breast milk everywhere

  1. I was the same way! The best was when we had been out for awhile and I hadn’t been able to stop and feed. When I finally unhooked the flap on the nursing bra, it was like a fire hose had been dropped. I sprayed the back seat of the car and all over the baby. It was hilarious and no one had witnessed the event!

    • THAT is why I’m afraid to be away from home for more than three hours! I’m still not comfortable nursing away from home so I take a bottle of expressed milk just in case (although so far she sleeps through all of our excursions).

  2. This is so foreign to me – I’ve almost NEVER leaked. Initially it freaked me out because I thought it meant something about my supply, but now I know I’m just lucky! Sorry about the spilled milk!

    • It is frustrating because I’m was like “man! What a waste!” I pump 3-4 times a day after she eats so that I have some in the freezer when I go back to work. Plus I need the emptying. She typically only eats from one side so if I don’t pump I’ll be super lopsided!

  3. Be careful about pumping too much if you feel like you have a lot – it actually does the opposite. An empty breast produces MORE milk! Especially this early, when you’re regulating, by pumping you’re effectively telling your body to make more milk than Charlie needs. If you want to save the milk you leak, they have these little breast pad/containers called Milkies that some of my friends swear by! And remember you only need 1 – 1.5 oz per hour you’re away when you work, and only enough for the first day since you’ll have to pump at work anyway. (I’ve spent a lot of time in breastfeeding groups, so tell me to stop with the unsolicited advice anytime!)

    • No it’s totally fine-I appreciate the advice! To a certain extent I need to at least empty the breast she’s not eating from or I get super uncomfortable, but now that I have a good supply I could probably back it down to just two pumps a day, or maybe just the one before bed. There’s SO much misinformation about bfing, and everyone has different experience. I saw three different LCs total. Two in the hospital and one a week PP and they all told me different stuff!

      • If you can, try pumping just until the pain/pressure is gone, and not until ’empty’ – empty sends a signal, but just pumping until you’re a little more comfortable won’t do the same thing. Also, I have learned there is a HUGE difference between an LC and an IBCLC – the latter needs extensive training and coursework, as well as contact hours. But a lot of places just employ LC’s, who don’t have the same training and experience. You could try and use a hand pump while she’s eating on the opposite breast. I LOVE my new hand pump, and I often use it at night to take off the pressure now that A is sleeping a little longer.

      • Everyone I’ve seen has been a “lactation nurse” technically, so I don’t know what kind of qualifications they technically have. The last one I saw was my favorite because she got her to latch! The first one I hated because she spent five minutes with me and it was clear it was the end of her shift and she was just ready to go.

      • A hand pump is all my insurance will pay for. I’m using a medela Pisa a friend gave me with new parts (I know this is controversial, but my doc said it was ok as long as she didn’t have AIDS or Hep B). I really want to get he spectra s2 but I’ll have to pay out of pocket :-/

      • Honestly, it seems next to impossible for milk to get up in the tube down to the motor and then back up the tube into the bottle, so I personally think the ‘single user’ thing is just the company being overly cautious. The bigger issue is that most of the motors on pumps like the PISA are really only designed to last a year or so, so you run the risk of the pump not working as well. I LOVE my spectra – I had to pay out of pocket as well – so it might be worth looking into if your PISA craps out!

      • I just feel like the medela is tormenting my nipples! Plus I have two work places to go back to. I wouldn’t mind having a pump I could leave at my main job and one at home. Then I’ll do a little less transporting!

      • As I understand it, the only difference between the S1 and S2 is that the S1 has a rechargeable battery – it’s usually more expensive because of that! The benefit of the battery is that you can pump in the car without an adapter!

      • Some ladies in my BF group say they can get an ounce or two from them!! Just the leaking. I guess you just have to be careful to pull them out and not lean over though, or they’ll spill.

  4. Your milk production will regulate to baby over time. But it takes time. Congratulations on how well you are doing already!

  5. The leaking will probably go away after a month or so once your body regulates and adjusts for baby. It did for me anyway, and I’ve heard that from others as well.

  6. Lol! I always leaked too. I sprayed DD in the face by accident too when she was sitting next to me and I was getting my boob out to nurse. I also accident sprayed my neighbour’s couch… Thankfully she was also nursing at that time and her couch was leather, for easy clean up!

  7. Like many women have said the random leaking goes away after your boobs regulate. I still occasionally wake up leaking if C sleeps in. I still frequently leak out of one side when I nurse the other.

  8. haha oh well at least you don’t have to worry about supply. You may already know this and I haven’t read all the comments so someone might have mentioned but just in case, here goes…when you pump you are telling your boobs that that milk is needed (boobies think they are feeding) so they will keep making that same amount of milk for that same time of day. You may want to keep your supply up so if so pump away. If you were trying to reduce it though then you’d have to stick out the pressure (and the leaking!!) for a bit to let the boobies adjust.

    I want to say too much is better than not enough but actually, I think both are a pain in the A for obvious reasons. Hope it settles down for you soon. xx

    • I’m stuck between this place of wanting my boobs to be a little bit more manageable and being afraid if I let my supply drop a little that I won’t have enough :-/ I leaked again this morning and my left side was hard as a rock until just now when I had her nurse off of it. I only pumped once yesterday mid morning so that may be my routine-drop the evening pumps and just do one a day. It’s scary though! I’d rather have too much than not enough, but too much still stinks.

      • I know. It is hard in the early days. I totaly get it. I think reducing to pumping once per day and letting the boobies adjust is a great plan. X

Leave a Reply

