Chief

That last post I had been working on for a while, so I wanted to go ahead and release it, but what’s most important today is that it’s Chief’s birthday.

Charlie’s Daddo is 33 years old today and my goodness, he is a good man. My husband is the most devoted father I could have ever asked for while also maintaining his status as best husband. I would totally understand him putting Charlie first, because that’s how it should be. But somehow he manages to put her first without making me feel like I’m second. He takes care of his girls, and I feel pretty honored to be one of them.

They say that having a baby will test your marriage and that was one of the things I was most afraid of. We’ve had some rocky moments in the past and this huge change that was coming down the pipe seemed like the ultimate potential storm. But the love that Charlie has brought into our lives poured down on us like rain in a drought and drenched our souls in the most amazing love. I feel stronger in my marriage. Things that bothered me before just don’t seem to matter. I let go of so many stupid, petty things because I see how much my husband loves my daughter. I remember how he started to cry when I got admitted to the hospital to deliver her because he was so relieved they were going to take care of me. I can’t forget that for the first month of her life I didn’t carry a car seat, barely changed a diaper, and was never alone for middle of the night feedings.

Chief respects that this is my extremely public yet private space. I don’t even know that he knows the web address to the blog. So I know he’ll never read this, but I hope that he knows how much I love him. I hope he knows that he is the epitome of the perfect dad. I hope he knows that he still makes my heart beat fast every day when he comes home. I am always happy to hear him pulling in the driveway. I still get excited to see he has texted me. He’s my guy, my ace, my number one stud.

I hope he knows he is loved and that he deserves that love.

Chief and Charlie

CsParty

7 thoughts on “Chief

Leave a Reply

