Socks

We’ve made a new development in the Charlie-sleep situation:

Socks.

Effing socks.

Let me explain.

When last we spoke about this topic we had gone back to the swaddle and were digging the pacifier and momma was just accepting it. That worked for a bit. Then all of a sudden she was FIGHTING the swaddle. Not at first, but in her wake up time she would strain and groan to get out of it. But at the same time, once I let her out of it, then she couldn’t sleep.

So a few nights ago I tried our Zippadee Zip that we just got. Unfortunately though I ordered it way too big, so it’ll be a while before she can use it. She was swimming in it so it did no good. In a fit of desperation I got out her Baby Merlin Suit and….she slept well. Very well. She still woke up (I’m done believing that babies sleep through the night. Probably it’s a conspiracy), but not for a while. I did notice though that her feet were like ice, even though we keep the house warm enough (I think anyway).

So last night I put some socks on her with her Sleep Suit. And the kid slept LIKE. A. ROCK. For about five hours, then a nurse, then another 3-4 hours.

The other new development is that she’s decided she needs more like 14 hours of sleep instead of the 12 she was getting. We were doing 7:00 pm-7:00 am. This whole week though it’s more like 7:00 pm-9:00 am. This doesn’t really result in anymore sleep as a whole because this means she’s basically dropping a morning nap. She takes a nap around 12:00 noon, 1:00 if I can stretch it and then gets up around 3:00 and stays up until 7:00, unless she catches a cat nap in the car or something.

So this is all fine with me. I certainly don’t mind the extra sleep. It’s made it possible for me to irresponsibly stay up late watching Downton Abbey or reruns of The Middle. Which probably means that now that I’ve adjusted my schedule she’ll revert back. But for now I’m digging the socks and the sleep.

10 thoughts on “Socks

  1. Mackenzie is on a similar schedule on days we are home. Down around 7-8pm and will sleep as a late as 9am some days with a nap around lunch time.

    Glad to hear you’re finding a solution that works for you!

  2. Babies are weird. They all have their own hang ups, so trial and error is sometimes our only option.

    I’m always so terrified Chick will be cold at night, so I put on tons of layers, sleep sacks, etc. I’m this close to putting mittens on him!

Leave a Reply

