That stupid lump

A while back, I can’t remember how far, but a while, I posted about finding a marble sized lump in my hip. At the time my doctor said it was probably a lipoma, a non cancerous lump, or something that developed from an injection. Either way he said it was not harmful, but that if it bothered me he would be happy to order an MRI (or an ultrasound, I can’t recall which now).

For some reason, because I don’t have anything better to do, and because I brushed my hand over it just now, I’ve decided to worry about it tonight. Probably because I have a daughter now. I know that it I had had cancer for the last few years that my blood work through treatments and pregnancy probably would have showed something (right?). At any rate, I feel like I need to get it checked out for my peace of mind. I wish I had done it years ago so I wouldn’t be thinking of it now.

13 thoughts on “That stupid lump

  1. I just went through the exact same thing!! Its so frustrating how our minds like to screw with us!! I hope yours continues to be nothing. Is there anyway you can get it checked out again? I know it made a big difference to my state to know without a doubt that its not cancer.
    Also, please send me your etsy shop again. Sorry I’ve been sooooo slow and horrible at ordering, I really plan to tomorrow am.

    • I think I’ll call the doc I’ve been seeing. They don’t know yet that I’m switching Charlie’s care so I can probably get in really quick. He may just order the ultrasound for me without seeing me since he said he would before, though it was two years ago so he may want to reexamine me. Otherwise I’ll have to go through the new patient process with someone somewhere.

      The link to your listing is:
      https://www.etsy.com/listing/267415401/reserved-for-mpb

      No worries on the delay 🙂 I’ve had plenty to keep me busy and so have you!

  2. I’ve had a few lumps lately and it was always worth investigation for my peace of mind. If it is going to make you feel crazy then I’d definitely do it 🙂

  3. I’ve had a hardish pea-sized lump on my right hip for years. I was scared for a long time to ask about it, but when I did the Dr said it’s just a small cyst under the skin. It’s better to ask and be sure than to live all worried and scared about it! I hope it turns out to be nothing!

  4. I have a cyst kinda on the inner part of one of my butt cheeks – as in the crack of my ass. My family doctor is aware of it, checks it out often and is not concerned. It’s been there for a few years now. During Wyatt’s delivery they had me try all different positions while pushing/trying to get him to change position. One position was on all fours with my ass hanging out. One of the nurses brought it up asking if I knew about it. HELLO CRAZY LADY! Do you think a bump on my bum is really what I’m concerned about while I’m trying to delivery my baby? She shut up once I said yes, my doctor is aware, but still… I got the family doc to check it out again, but still no concern.

Leave a Reply

