The saga continues

I had a really long phone conversation with the principal at the new school. It went well. I mean I think it went REALLY well. I felt confident answering all of his questions and he really understood me when I was talking about feeling like a chunk of my life was missing without my career. He literally said “it feels like a big piece of who you are is missing, right?” Seriously that made me feel like “yes, this is it.”

Anyway, we talked for almost an hour and he said that the next step was to have me speak with the head of the library department, which is the elementary school librarian. We spoke this afternoon. She was really chipper and friendly. She asked just a few questions and I think I did pretty well. She has invited me to come to campus for an entire day to complete the application process. Apparently I interview with the principal, the headmaster (yes, they are two different things), all the other librarians (just two, one of which I know) and I guess a few other people she didn’t get specific about. I’ll have lunch with teachers so they can get to know me and THEN I have to teach a class, which is the only part of this that scares the shit out of me. I know that it would be part of the job but it’s different knowing it’s part of the job and actually having to prove on the spot that I can do it. They did say that they would provide the lesson plan for me though, so that’s okay.

At the end of the conversation she said “so we’ll schedule that in the near future” which made me uneasy because….yeah I’ve got this other job possibly on the line. so I was really upfront and told her that I had the final interview for a job that I didn’t want as much as I wanted this one, but that would still be a really good job. I told her that I didn’t want to leave them on the hook, but that I felt like I was within my rights that if they offered it to me I could ask for a few days to think about it, but with all that being said, I would like to come to campus sooner rather than later. She said she completely understood and she appreciated my honesty. I hope she didn’t think I was trying to leverage that job offer that isn’t even real yet to get an offer out of her. I really wasn’t. I just felt like honesty was the best policy in this situation.

So that’s where things are. I really, really, really, really, REALLY, want this job to work out. The culture at the school sounds awesome. I would have a group of 15 students that I advise and meet with as a group once a week and that sounds like something I would really love. The class I would be teaching would be an exploratory design course, so that’s things like basic coding, 3D printing, minor level robotics. She said they don’t expect me to be an expert coming in but to be capable of learning and following along with the lesson plans and helping the kids. I think I can do that….I hope.

I certainly hope I can do that in the interview anyway!

ETA: I forgot to mention that the only other candidate at the job is an internal candidate-a teacher. So that makes me nervous. The principal said that does not give them an advantage over me and that they wouldn’t waste my or their time bringing me to campus if I wasn’t a viable candidate, so I’m really hoping that’s true.

4 thoughts on “The saga continues

  1. Wow. I hope they bring you in REALLY soon for that! I wouldn’t think they would think you were trying to use the other possible job to try to get an offer, you were just letting them know what’s up. I think people usually actually appreciate that. Wishing you tons of luck with this!!

      • Of course, I’m sure anyone would! But you know at least they’re still bringing you in and taking the time with you, so I feel like that’s a good sign. Try to think positive! I’ll keep sending good vibes your way!

Leave a Reply

