The good, the bad, the in-between.

I’m just going to say it: I didn’t get the school job.

I was pretty devastated from the moment I answered the phone call and heard the principal’s voice. Then he said “I’m afraid I don’t have good news” and I knew. I was proud of myself for staying strong on the phone and remaining professional-it was hard. I had talked myself into believing I was going to get it, and it doesn’t take much to make me cry these days.

The other thing is that while I got the on base job I just wasn’t sure that it was going to work out. I had read some tricky things online about the contracting firm I’d be working through. I also had some rough feelings about starting so soon and losing the last summer with Charlie and Chief that I’ll have before I definitely go back to work in 2018. Chief and I talked about it and we decided that if it didn’t feel right right now then we could afford to wait. So i turned them down. In the email I wrote that if the job had a work from home component or was starting in the fall I would feel better about accepting, but I felt like I needed to spend this summer with my family.

The hiring manager wrote back immediately telling me how sorry he was because he felt that I would be great for the job. I instantly had regrets-he is SO. NICE. I thought about emailing to tell him I had changed my mind but I hadn’t really. I want to work, but I want a few more months. That’s just one of the reasons the school job was going to be so great.

Anyway, I was really depressed all day. I thought I was going to get that school job, but also, I just really am ready to have a plan for my future. A few hours later I got an email from the contracting firm hiring manager, requesting that I call him. When I did he offered to hold the job until the end of August for me. He said he can’t technically do that, but he can draw out the recruitment process and have me sign on in July with a start date in August-they’ll let him do that. He said he wanted me to think about it and talk about it with my husband, but that he really felt strongly that I was the right person for this job even though he had other people who could do it.

I think I’m going to take him up on it. It’s only four months before I have to go back to work so I’m not shaving so much of my time at home off. I’m ready to have the financial security that comes with steady work, and the work will be fulfilling. It also gives me all summer to get my affairs in order at the law firm. And I can’t lie-it’s really nice to be so strongly valued and pursued. The school made me really jump through hoops to prove that I was worthy and still decided I wasn’t. I get that that’s part of the process and people don’t get jobs all the time, but this time it feels worse because it’s the most exacting interview process I’ve ever been through. But this guy wants me to have this job because he genuinely believes in me and my qualifications and my passion for public service. It’s not a librarian job-but it’s a job that matters.

I think I’m going to take it.

8 thoughts on “The good, the bad, the in-between.

  1. I’m sorry about the school job. That’s amazing though that the base job wants you so much that they’ll pull strings to wait for you. And how amazing that you’ll have what sounds like an awesome boss! That really does make all the difference in the world. I hope you have the best summer ever with Charlie, and that you love the new job. Congrats!

  2. I think the universe is doing it all it can to get you to take that job so you should st least give it a go. Being valued for a position is so important. I’m sorry that it is bittersweet because of the school position not panning out. I can still remember an I trévise I had that I thought I was a shoe in for that I didn’t get but the direction I went in instead actually totally changed my life in a positive way so I’m no longer sorry for that even if it stung at the time. Maybe this will be the same for you 😃 Congrats and commiserations all at the same time.

  3. The fact that they’re willing to do this in order to get you on board signals that this could be a really great place to work. It sounds like a really great outcome.

  4. That’s great that they are willing to negotiate on the time frame for you! That’s a huge plus…and I agree with Emily – everything is falling into place for this job, so at least giving it a try is worth it! Good luck and congratulations! (also, it sucks about the school job! I just went through a very similar situation …. they had me jump through hoops, and then still decided I wasn’t good enough…so I can relate on the shitty way it makes you feel even though you know it’s all just the process).

  5. I’m sorry you didn’t get the job 😦

    I do think it’s great that the other job really really wants you and the supervisor seems really nice to work with. A good work environment is important. I think in the end you’ll also be pleased not to have to leave Charlie with a sitter. Can you believe she’s almost 2???

  6. Pins and needles and crossed eyes hoping house sold. Update?????
    And Super congratulations on being such a good fit for the job offer that they will wait for you! Hopefully a sign they are smart and will value you correctly!

  7. I’m so sorry about the school job! I know that’s a hard hit for you. However, I’m thrilled that they were willing to work with you on the start date for the other job because I do think that you will be fantastic at it. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

